News: Architect Rafiq Azam has won the CAA Robert Mathew Life Time Achievement Award for 2022

Institute of Architects Bangladesh (IAB) is pleased to announce that Bangladeshi Architect Rafiq Azam has won the CAA Robert Mathew Life Time Achievement Award for 2022. Congratulations to Ar. Rafiq Azam!
A five-member jury board, Ar. Saif Ul Haque (Asia), Professor Alfred Omenya (Africa), Ar. Jonathan Mizzi (Europe), Ar. Liz Walsh (Oceania) and Ar. Jennifer Smith (America) unanimously named architect Rafiq Azam as the winner of the CAA Robert Mathew Award 2022.
It is worth mentioning that previously the award was received by eminent architects/architectural offices like Balkrishna Doshi of India (2003), TR Hamzah and Yeang of Malaysia (2000), Greg Burgess Architects of Australia (1997), Ian Ritchie Architects of UK (1994), Hampshire County Council of UK (1991), Raj Rewal of India (1989), Arup Associates of UK (1985) and Philip Cox of Australia (1983).
The Robert Mathew Award recognizes innovative contributions to the development of architecture in the Commonwealth context. The award is to be made to an architectural practice making the most outstanding contribution, having particular relevance to the country or region in which the architect or architectural practice operates. This award is given to Architects to acknowledge Life Time Achievement.
The award will be presented to architect Rafiq Azam at the CAA General Assembly in Trinidad and Tobago starting on the 8th of August 2022.
The Institute of Architects Bangladesh once again congratulates architect Rafiq Azam and his team and hopes that this success of Bangladeshi architects will continue in the future.


Association of Architects
Architects Regional Council Asia

Commonwealth Association of Architects
Union International Des Architects

Mailing Address

IAB Centre, Plot-11, Road-7, Block-E, Agargaon Sher-E-Banglanagar, Dhaka.


Tel: +880255007196, +880255007197


© 2024 Institute of Architects Bangladesh
Powered by Data Core Lab