‘KSRM Awards for Future Architects’ is a prestigious award that aims to recognize the outstanding graduation projects nominated from IAB-accredited architecture schools in Bangladesh. The first cycle of this award was launched in 2019 following a Memorandum of Understanding signed between Kabir Steel Re-Rolling Mills (KSRM), one of the country’s leading steel manufacturer and the Institute of Architects Bangladesh (IAB). Since then, the award is presented annually to inspire architecture graduates, honor studio teachers and the schools. Combined with exhibitions and publications, the ‘KSRM Awards for Future Architects’ has become an important avenue for showcasing exemplary student design ideas.
After the success of three consecutive cycles, the 4th cycle of “KSRM Awards for Future Architects (2021-2022)” continued this year. On September 12, 2022, IAB announced the award program and circulated the “Call for Entries”. The selection process involved two-stage screening. All 13 IAB-accredited architecture schools were asked to nominate up to three projects that had their assessment in between July 2021 and June 2022, to be considered for the award. Following the internal screening of their respective schools, the shortlisted projects found their way to be included in the national level of evolution.
A total of 28 projects from 11 accredited schools were submitted by the deadline this year. The five-member jury, made up of eminent academicians and architects, evaluated these projects on November 13, 2022 and decided on the winning entries after a blind judgement.
The Jury board members were
Dr. Mohammed Zakiul Islam, (Professor and Head, Department of Architecture, BUET)
Architect Tanya Karim, (Partner Architect, Tanya Karim N. R. Khan & Associates)
Dr. Sheikh Serajul Hakim, (Professor and Head, Department of Architecture, Khulna University)
Architect Ashik Ikbal, (Sr. Assistant professor, Department of Architecture, American International University-Bangladesh)
and Architect Saad Ben Mostafa, (Architect, Dept. of Architecture, Ministry of Housing and Public Works, GoB; & winner of AGA Khan Award for Architecture, 2022)
The public announcement of the winning entries and the Award Ceremony took place on November 17,2022 at IAB premise in a Gala Event in the presence of participating students, their parents, studio teachers, Jury board members, invited academicians, prominent architects, GOB representatives, IAB Executive Council members, KSRM representatives, media personnel and other distinguished guests.
The program started with an opening speech by Architect M. Arefeen Ibrahim, Secretary of Education, IAB, who emphasized on the efficacy of such platforms to create favorable liaison between academia and practice. Architect Farhana Sharmin Emu, (General Secretary of IAB), Architect Mir Manzurur Rahman (Chief Architect, Department of Architecture, GoB) and Cornel Md. Ashfakul Islam (General Manager - Market Research and Development Wing, KSRM) also spoke at the event. Applauding KSRM and IAB's initiative, Mir Manzurur Rahman said, "This award will surely motivate the winners to do better in future. In other countries, big companies recruit meritorious students through platforms like this”. He hoped that other companies might come forward with such initiatives by taking inspiration from this event.
The Jury board members shared their experiences, read out the award citations and declared the winners. The awards and mementos were then handed over to the winners by Architect Mir Manzurur Rahman and Cornel Md. Ashfakul Islam, at IAB center during the event.
Taorem Rahul Singha of Bangladesh University of Engineering and Technology (BUET) secured the first position while Mahir Aritro of Chittagong University of Engineering and Technology (CUET) and Md Nafew of the University of Asia Pacific (UAP) bagged the second and third places respectively.
Commendations were given to - Md. Nasif Sadman (CUET), Taorem Sananu (BUET) and Atika Farjana Bari (Khulna University).
All submissions were displayed to the public in a four-day long exhibition from November 14, 2022 to November 17, 2022.
The participating universities were - (in alphabetical order) American International University - Bangladesh (AIUB), Ahasanullah University of Science & Technology (AUST), BRAC University, Bangladesh University of Engineering & Technology (BUET), Chittagong University of Engineering & Technology (CUET), Khulna University, North South University, Shahjalal University of Science and Technology (SUST), Stamford University Bangladesh, Southeast University and University of Asia Pacific (UAP).


Association of Architects
Architects Regional Council Asia

Commonwealth Association of Architects
Union International Des Architects

Mailing Address

IAB Centre, Plot-11, Road-7, Block-E, Agargaon Sher-E-Banglanagar, Dhaka.


Tel: +880255007196, +880255007197


© 2023 Institute of Architects Bangladesh
Powered by Data Core Lab